BBQ

Yesterday I went on a BBQ that I was invited to by someone I knew from two years ago. I figured it would be okay. I ended up being introduced to a whole bunch of MHS guys who I either will never meet again or hope to never meet again.

But there was free food, which was a bonus. Although the Tim Tams melted in the sun (a guy dared another one to eat a melted Tim Tam, figure) and the picnic rug was a pale floral bedsheet and the mushrooms looked like brains, the sausages were good (oh, ha, ha) and the snacks were good. People brought heaps of soft drinks, and a small esky in which we tried to stuff a shitload of ice and meat in. It didn’t close.

Cathy and Ang- were there, and Ang brought her friend Andrew. I knew Cathy was gonna be there but it was a pleasant surprise to see Ang- there, and thank god too, because the four of us (including Andrew, who by the way in case you got confused is not the Andrew that belongs to Dani) just sat at a picnic bench and talked (it was by the Yarra, so it was windy, and I DEMANDED shade!). Then a guy called Keiran (I’m guessing that’s the male spelling) who’d previously thrown a Freddo at my head joined us, and threw half of Ang-‘s unwanted sausage into the river. We screamed at rowers and then when Linh came I managed to convince everyone that she was my second cousin (god I love that) and sparked a solid 3 minute debate on what second cousins actually are. I maintain that second cousins are when one of your parents is cousins with one of their parents. Others said it was your cousin’s cousin. I said, “That would be yourself.”

In the morning before the BBQ, Carmaine had a volleyball game at MSAC and when she finished she found me at Melb Central, and we went to RMIT to play pool (that’s fast becoming a regular thing. We’ll seriously end up being regulars there, even if we don’t go to RMIT in the future). We met (I met, Carmaine saw) Jack and Charles and Tom, all MHS guys going to the BBQ, and I played Carmaine twice, won once, and Jack did the same. I dubbed Carmaine “crazy ninja” because she always managed to get some pretty nasty shots in. For what it’s worth, the games were very close, for we all fought out with the 8-ball by the end.

Carmaine and I went to the BBQ only to have Carmaine leave almost immediately (but not before meeting Jalex (yes I realise the semblance to my previous blog, but these two are completely irrelevant) and subsequently…well I won’t say anything nasty but if you’d met Jalex then you’d too be…) and I picked up Cathy. Cathy, Ang-, Andrew and I left at around 2 promising to come back (we never did. The food ran out and everyone was getting bored) and we went into the CBD. We said bye to Ang- and Andrew at Dymocks and later April joined us. The three of us bought Bubble Cup (they need bigger menus for shorted sighted folks) and sat in front of State Library and talked. April and Cathy got along quite well! I think it was mostly because they were both DUX’s of Year 10 (nerds) and both had a boyfriend they gushed over.

Cathy left and April and I went to find some new shoes for her (her current shoes look like they’ve been to hell and back, and then had to make a return trip because it fell apart in Helllll) and at around 5 I found Carmaine again and we took the train home.

Because I was so late home, I ended up taking the bus and walking home from the bus stop. It pleased me that I wasn’t at all out of breath when I arrived home, nor were my parents scolding me for being late (I called in advance to say I’ll be home later, but I still expected a telling-off and a lecture on safety).

Aaaaand that was it for the week. Nada and zilch for the rest of the week (which suits me fine but also I want to see BRuCE again, god do I have absence withdrawal) and next week is officially the last week of unofficial holidays. Carmaine leaves next week. I hope that sentence has as much impact on others as it does on me.

De Fluffe, Out.

Leave a comment